If only I’d tell him to stop…

He always was here

right beside me

shared a locker in class

played on the same team

walked home together

shielded me from bullies

covered me on cold evenings

called to confirm I got home safe

he was always here

but his heart was with her

the one he loved

“my best friend” he called me

he was more that that to me

I tried

to show it, let him know

I wanted him just for me

but he’d never see it

he says, “I’ve gotta see Carrie. see you tomorrow.”

bids me goodbye and leaves

no! he’ll never see it

all the love I have for him

and that hurt

everyday.

 

 

2 thoughts on “If only I’d tell him to stop…

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

