costly ride

​I just wanted a ride

Why did you let me crush?

I knew you hit high speeds 

But they told me you also had good governors 

Told me 

As long as you got brakes

And you had the best I’d tested

You opened yourself up

And let me start a journey with you 

Smooth and slow

Nothing alarming even though I was a learner

Each mile you strengthened my confidence 

And I stepped hard on gas to match up

I wanted to be closer if not a match

You had a limit to shut down 

But even then you let me step on

Today I lie here

Crushed and broken

Motionless, feelingless, 

Why did you let me crush?

Why didn’t you stop my heart

Why didn’t you shut me out 

I just wanted a ride in love

Not a homeless broken heart.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

